Slider[Style1]

Style2


 COVER REVEALS           REVIEWS              READING LISTS      NEWS AND SALES        GIVEAWAYS



Style4

Style3[OneLeft]

Style6

                 

Style3[OneRight]

Style5[ImagesOnly]

           

Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters #1) by Monica Murphy - bookreviewbay.com
New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

Get OWNING VIOLET (Kindle)
Get OWNING VIOLET (Hardcover)
Get OWNING VIOLET (Audio Book)

“…I imagine her looking at me like that. Like I hung the moon and stars and everything in between, all of it just for her.”



Monica Murphy is one of those authors that you simply don't forget. You read one of her books and her name stays with you for ever and always. She branded her way into my heart with her Drew + Fable series back in 2013 already so it was a sure thing I'd pick this series up at some point in the near future.

If you adored MM's One Week Girlfriend Series (Drew + Fable)... That's awesome. I'm totally thrilled you did. But don't think that just because you loved One Week G'friend that you will love The Fowler Sisters equally as much!

Because, there's some news I need to deliver to you... and that's that Monica Murphy's writing and style has matured. Evolved. It's classier, richer and even smoother than what we got during One Week Girlfriend. Looking back I kind of feel like I've outgrown (and so has Monica Murphy) the One Week Girlfriend Series. Although it was brilliant at the time and still remains one of my fav's, I'm kind of loving her new writing technique. Her male characters have changed. They've become darker, deeper and even more addicting because of that. She's not writing about male characters we swoon over... she's now plotting together men... real men we hate to love but love to experience. There's passion so hot it's beyond anything I've ever read from her. I'm so impressed by this. I'm giddy over this book!

So honestly, if you've read One Week Girlfriend and think you are just going to get this one because MM is a safe bet... you are so, so wrong! There's more fire in this series. More emotions, more hurt, darker even. Don't expect a light read. There is frustration, angst... many WTF moments - but oh so divine! I adored this book so much that right after I finished I couldn't stop talking about it to my friends.

There are times that Violet comes across as 'stuck-up'... but eventually that fades and her character develops more depth. There's a lot of book in this one and because of that you grow very, very attached to Violet and Ryder. So they will stay with you long after the book is over.

Another great aspect about this series is that although this is a series, it's pretty much standalone books and so you don't need to worry about cliff hangers or abrupt endings. This is totally a bonus because once you get reading you will want to know the outcome asap! I don't know how I would have felt if this book was divided into more than one part.

Violet is a well-bred, very elegant woman who works works at her family's cosmetics company, Fleur. At the start of this book (which I really loved... BTW) we are efficiently given the backstory of Violet and her then boyfriend, Zachary. You learn to dislike that man almost immediately... and at the same time you find yourself bonding with Violet. So from there on out you will only grow closer to her character. Not far into the book we are introduced to Ryder. From there on out we alternate POV between the two and I love that factor as well.

I'm entirely happy with the book. I have no complaints or criticisms. I'm loving Monica Murphy's new style of storytelling and I'm so looking forward to the followup Stealing Rose.

Rating: 5 Stars!

Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters #1) by Monica Murphy - bookreviewbay.com




RELEASE DATE: December 2nd, 2014
GENRE: Adult Romance

LANGUAGE: English

ISIN: B00KK0PJCO
PUBLISHER: Bantam

RELATED BOOKS & READING ORDER:

Owning Violet    •    Stealing Rose (pre-order now)   •    Taming Lily (available July 7th, 2015}

Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters #1) by Monica Murphy - bookreviewbay.com Stealing Rose (The Fowler Sisters #2) by Monica Murphy - bookreviewbay.com


Book News, Updates & Announcements - Book Review Bay

Share This Post With Your Friends On



About Laurynne Gouws

Hi. I'm Laurynne (Pronounced 'Lauren') & I'm a 30(ish) year old Graphic & Web Designer from Port Elizabeth, South Africa. I spend majority of my time either reading, blogging, browsing Amazon or when the mood strikes, designing something. Welcome to my blog.
«
Next
Newer Post
»
Previous
Older Post

No comments:

Post a Comment